The NBA season returned today, and we’re preparing for it with NBA futures bets for the entire Western Conference and Eastern Conference for the 2023-24 NBA season. We will also dive deep on NBA Awards including NBA MVP, NBA Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, Most Improved Player and NBA Coach of the Year.    

Let’s get into some NBA Defensive Player of the Year odds as we make our picks for the winner. 

NBA Defensive Player of the Year Odds 2023-24

Jaren Jackson Jr.+600
Evan Mobley +700
Giannis Antetokounmpo +800
Anthony Davis +1000
Bam Adebayo +1000

Find all NBA DPOY odds at Betway Sportsbook

Who won NBA Defensive Player of the Year 2022-23?

Jaren Jackson Jr. of the Memphis Grizzlies won the award after averaging 3.0 blocks per game, 0.5 more than Nic Claxton (Nets) and Brook Lopez (Nets).

Favorites to win NBA Defensive Player of the Year 2023-24

Jackson is naturally the favorite because of his shot-blocking skills, and shot-blocking specialists have won this award four of the past six seasons. The exceptions were Marcus Smart (2021-22) and Giannis Antetokounmpo (2019-20) for their on-the-ball defense.

Jaren Jackson (+600)

He now has Marcus Smart as a teammate, and Smart will get some of the credit if the Grizzlies are a top defensive team

Evan Mobley (+700)

He is a terrific low-post defender for a team that is not all that terrific. Would need to double his 2022-23 blocked-shots average (1.5)

Giannis Antetokounmpo (+800)

We only see this happening if the Bucks win 73 to 74 games and Lillard gets the MVP. Brook Lopez is their best defensive stat guy.

Anthony Davis (+1000)

Too fragile physically. Players must appear in 65 games to qualify. Davis has done that zero times in the past five seasons.

Bam Adebayo (+1000)

Always gets ballot support, but never enough to win the award. Very good defender; not a great one.

2023-24 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Predictions and Picks

Like Rookie of the Year, this is a stat-driven award that usually goes to the blocked-shots leader. But this season, we think the steals leader might have a chance, and OG Anunoby is a steals specialist for a Toronto team that nobody is talking about.

The Pick: OG Anunoby (+2500)

NBA Defensive Player of the Year History

Here are the last 10 winners of NBA DPOY history:

2014: Joakim Noah
2015: Kawhi Leonard
2016: Kawhi Leonard
2017: Draymond Green
2018: Gobert
2019: Gobert
2020: Antetokounmpo
2021: Gobert
2022: Smart
2023: Jackson Jr.

Bet on NBA Futures odds at Betway 

Find season-long NBA odds on Betway sportsbook. You'll find all the latest spreads, totals, money lines, and parlays. Missed tip-off? No problem, Betway also offers live betting. All your NBA betting needs are covered in our online sportsbook.

Visit Betway’s NBA picks page for picks and predictions throughout the season.