The National Football League Most Valuable Player Award could very easily be renamed the “Best annual NFL QB award” -- no non-QB has taken home the honor since Vikings RB Adrian Peterson in 2012.

Which teams have had players win the most NFL MVPs? Keep reading this Betway Insider top 10 to find out.

As usual, all stats are courtesy of and are updated through the end of the 2023

How many MVPs does Patrick Mahomes have?

Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes has won two NFL MVPs: one in 2018, and one in 2022.

Who has the most MVPs in the NFL?

The team with the most NFL MVPs is the Green Bay Packers, who’ve had five different players win a combined 10 times.

Teams with the most MVP winners in NFL History

  1. Baltimore Ravens: 2

Players: QB Lamar Jackson 2x

A whole host of teams are tied with two cumulative MVP award winners, including the Giants, Bengals, Titans, and Bills. So why do the Ravens slot in here? We’ll do a quick tally:

  • Current Baltimore starting QB Lamar Jackson has two awards -- he won unanimously in 2019, and he took home 49/50 first-place votes to capture the 2023 award
  • While RB Jamal Lewis didn’t win the 2003 award per the AP voting, he did capture the PFWA 2003 MVP.

Fun fact: 2003 was the last time the AP and PFWA didn’t agree on the MVP winner.

  1. Las Vegas Raiders: 3

Players: QB Ken Stabler 1x, RB Marcus Allen 1x, QB Rich Gannon 1x

The Las Vegas Raiders haven’t had any MVPs since the team relocated to Sin City -- their last winner came in 2002:

  • 2002: Oakland Raiders QB Rich Gannon cemented his late-career renaissance with an MVP award, leading the league with 4,689 passing yards
  • 1985: Los Angeles RB Marcus Allen led the league with 1,759 rushing yards
  • 1974: Oakland Raiders RB Ken Stabler led the NFL with 26 touchdowns and led Oakland to an 11-2 record in his starts
  1. Washington Commanders: 3

Players: RB Larry Brown 1x, K Mark Moseley 1x, QB Joe Theismann 1x

You read that right: the Washington Commanders had a kicker win the MVP. During the strike-shortened 1982 season, Washington kicker Mark Mosely went 20/21 on field goals (with a long of 48) to capture an unlikely Most Valuable Player award.

The other two winners were a little more traditional: RB Larry Brown won in 1972 when he led the league with 1,689 total yards. In 1983, Washington QB Joe Theismann led the team to a 14-2 record on the back of his 3,714 passing yards and 29 touchdowns. Unfortunately, Theismann’s career ended early a season and a half later.

  1. Denver Broncos: 3

Players: QB John Elway 1x, RB Terrell Davis 1x, QB Peyton Manning 1x

Denver's three MVP winners are a pair of inner-circle Pro Football Hall of Famers

  • John Elway: he didn’t earn First-team All-Pro honors during his 1987 MVP season. Elway’s best campaign was 1993 when he led the league in passing yards
  • Terrell Davis: TD broke the 2,000+ rushing yard barrier in 1998 (while leading the league in rushing touchdowns) to “run away” with the 1998 MVP award
  • Peyton Manning: how good was Peyton Manning’s 2013 MVP campaign? He only went ahead and set the NFL single-season records for passing yards and passing touchdowns.
  1. New England Patriots: 3

Players: Tom Brady 3x

Surprise: former New England Patriots QB Tom Brady captured all three of the franchise’s MVP awards. His best season came in 2007 when he:

  1. Led the league with 4,806 passing yards
  2. Set a then-NFL record with 50 passing touchdowns
  3. Guided New England to a perfect 16-0 regular season record
  1. Los Angeles Rams: 4

Players: QB Roman Gabriel 1x, QB Kurt Warner 2x, RB Marshall Faulk

Former Rams QB Roman Gabriel may not be a household name to many NFL fans, but he was the star of the elite Los Angeles Rams teams of the late 1960s. His best campaign came in 1969 when he took home the MVP award as he led LA to an 11-3 record while leading the league in passing touchdowns.

Many NFL fans remember QB Kurt Warner as elite, but did you know he won two MVP awards? The first came in 1999 when Warner was famously signed out of a grocery store to lead the NFL in touchdowns.

Warner had the luxury of handing the ball off to 2000 NFL MVP Marshall Faulk, who totaled 2,147 yards with a league-best 18 rushing touchdowns.

  1. Cleveland Browns: 4

Players: RB Jim Brown 3x, QB Brian Sipe 1x

Former Browns RB Jim Brown bookended his career in the best of ways. How? Not only did Brown win both 1957 Offensive Rookie of the Year and 1957 NFL MVP in his maiden campaign, but he also closed his career with the 1965 NFL MVP honor. Not bad for the man many consider the best running back in NFL history.

Former Cleveland QB Brian Sipe is one of the biggest MVP outliers in NFL history. During a surprising 1980 season where Cleveland marched to a 11-5 record, Sipe threw for a career-best 4,132 yards and 30 touchdowns. He earned a Pro Bowl berth that campaign for the first and only time in his career.

  1. San Francisco 49ers: 5

Players: QB John Brodie 1x, QB Joe Montana 2x, QB Steve Young 2x

The 1980s San Francisco 49ers were one of the few teams in NFL history to roster multiple MVPs. Backup QB Steve Young bided his time behind QB Joe Montana for half a decade before becoming the team’s unquestioned starter at age 31. He promptly won the 1992 MVP award…and won it again in 1994.

QB Joe Montana was not bad himself, capturing two MVPs in the late 1980s. Before them was QB John Brodie, who earned just two Pro Bowls in his entire career. One of them came during an outstanding 1970 MVP campaign when Brodie led the NFL in both passing yards and passing touchdowns.

  1. Indianapolis Colts: 9

Players: QB Johnny Unitas 3x, QB Earl Morrall 1x, QB Bert Jones 1x, QB Peyton Manning 4x

The Colts franchise has had four different QBs win the MVP award:

  • Johnny Unitas: 1959, 1964, 1967
  • Earl Morrall: 1968
  • Bert Jones: 1976
  • Peyton Manning: 2003, 2004, 2008, 2009 (Manning is tied for the most NFL MVP awards in history)
  1. Green Bay Packers: 10

Players: RB Paul Hornung 1x, FB Jim Taylor 1x, QB Bart Starr 1x, QB Brett Favre 3x, QB Aaron Rodgers 4x

Which team has the most NFL MVP history? The answer is the Green Bay Packers, who have five players taking home a total of 10 awards. We’ll highlight some of QB Aaron Rodgers’s seasons here:     

  • 2011: Rodgers threw for 4,643 yards with a 45-6 TD-INT and led GB to a 15-1 record
  • 2012: Rodgers threw for 4,381 yards with a 38-5 TD-INT
  • 2020: Rodgers had a stunning 48-5 TD-INT ratio
  • 2021: Rodgers again had a stunning 37-4 TD-INT ratio

Bet on NFL MVP odds at Betway

Find season-long NFL betting odds on the Betway. You'll find all the latest spreads, parlays, totals, NFL prop bets, moneylines, and NFL futures. Or call it how you see it with our live NFL betting in-play. All your NFL betting needs are covered at our online sportsbook.

Visit Betway’s NFL picks page for picks and predictions throughout the regular season.