The Stanley Cup is awarded to the winners of the National Hockey League playoffs every year.

First created in 1892 as the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup, it is the oldest trophy awarded in North American professional sports.

Of the 31 teams that currently compete in the NHL, 20 franchises have lifted the Stanley Cup at some point in their history.

That means 11 hockey clubs remain without a Stanley Cup win.

1. Arizona Coyotes

Not only has Arizona never won a Stanley Cup, they are the oldest franchise without an appearance in the Stanley Cup Finals.

Since entering the NHL in 1979 as the Winnipeg Jets, the franchise’s best result was a loss in the Western Conference Finals in 2011-12.

Arizona ended a seven-year playoff drought in 2019-20, but lost in the first round to the Colorado Avalanche.

2. Buffalo Sabres

Buffalo has reached the Stanley Cup Finals twice, first losing to the Philadelphia Flyers in 1975 before being beaten in 1999 by the Dallas Stars.

In the 21 seasons since then, the Sabres have reached the playoffs just six times, advancing past the first round on three of those occasions.

Buffalo currently holds the NHL’s longest playoff drought of nine seasons, with their last postseason game coming in 2010-11.

3. Columbus Blue Jackets

Columbus are one of the NHL’s youngest franchises, joining the league in 2000 as an expansion team.

After some struggles in their early years, Columbus has developed into a playoffs regular in recent years, reaching the postseason in each of the last four seasons.

They are yet to reach the Stanley Cup Finals, though, or the Conference Finals for that matter.

4. Florida Panthers

Florida had some initial success after its entrance into the NHL in 1993-94, including a Stanley Cup Finals appearance in 1996.

Since losing that series to the Colorado Avalanche, though, the Panthers have found postseason appearances very hard to come by.

They have reached the playoffs just six times since 1996, failing to win a single series.

5. Minnesota Wild

Since their first season in 2000-01, the Wild have made the playoffs more often than not – they’ve reached the postseason in 10 of their 19 campaigns to date.

That consistency hasn’t been converted into titles, though, with their best result being a Conference Finals appearance in 2003.

In their nine playoff appearances since then, Minnesota has advanced past the first round just twice.

6. Nashville Predators

The Predators have been a postseason fixture in recent seasons, reaching the playoffs in 13 of the last 15 seasons.

That run included their first Stanley Cup Finals appearance in 2017, with Nashville eventually losing out 4-2 to the Pittsburgh Penguins.

They won their first Presidents’ Trophy the following year, but failed to convert that into a Stanley Cup.

7. Ottawa Senators

The original Ottawa Senators were one of the most famous teams in the early years of the NHL, winning 11 Stanley Cups between 1903 and 1927.

The current Senators are a new franchise, though, and are yet to win the NHL’s biggest prize since their establishment in 1992.

Among 16 playoff appearances and four division titles, Ottawa’s best performance in the postseason was their run to the Finals in 2007.

8. San Jose Sharks

The Sharks have been one of the best teams in the NHL in recent years, registering nine 100-point seasons since 2003-04.

Their success in the regular season has never translated into a Stanley Cup, though.

San Jose has appeared in just one Stanley Cup Finals in their history, losing in six games to Pittsburgh in 2015-16.

9. Vancouver Canucks

Since joining the league alongside the Sabres in 1970, Vancouver has qualified for the postseason more often than not.

It has also reached three Stanley Cup Finals – in 1982, 1994 and 2011 – losing two of those series in seven games.

Along with Buffalo, the Canucks are the oldest team in the NHL without a Stanley Cup win.

10. Vegas Golden Knights

The Golden Knights nearly pulled off a miracle in their inaugural NHL season in 2017-18, losing to the Washington Capitals in the Stanley Cup Finals.

By winning 13 games on their road to that series, Vegas set the record for most playoff wins by a team in their first postseason.

Vegas has reached the playoffs in their two subsequent seasons as well, including a Conference Finals appearance in 2019-20.

11. Winnipeg Jets

In their initial guise as the Atlanta Thrashers, the franchise reached the playoffs just once in 11 seasons.

A move to Winnipeg has brought four postseason appearances in nine years, but no Stanley Cup Finals appearances.

The Jets’ best result was a run to the Conference Finals in 2017-18, where they lost to Vegas.

Visit Betway's NHL betting page.