Find NFL preseason odds throughout August on the Betway sportsbook. You'll find all the latest spreads, parlays, totals, money lines and NFL futures. Or call it how you see it with our live NFL betting in-play. All your NFL betting needs are covered at our online sportsbook.

Visit Betway’s NFL picks and predictions page for picks and predictions throughout the regular season.

The youngest quarterbacks to win a Super Bowl in NFL history

1. Ben Roethlisberger | Pittsburgh Steelers | Super Bowl XL (2006) | 23 years, 340 days

Roethlisberger, who retired at the end of 2021 following an 18-season career with the Steelers, is the youngest quarterback to ever win the Super Bowl.

At the age of just 23, ‘Big Ben’ led Pittsburgh to the championship at Super Bowl XL in 2006, defeating the Seattle Seahawks by a score of 21-10.

Roethlisberger had been drafted 11th overall in 2004, winning Offensive Rookie of the Year in his first season before going all the way in just his second year as a professional.

The Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback did not have a great game, completing just nine of 21 passes for 123 yards with no touchdowns and two picks. His passer rating of 22.6 is the lowest ever by a Super Bowl-winning quarterback.

The Steelers, however, capitalised on two big plays – a 75-yard touchdown rush from Willie Parker and Antwaan Randle El’s 43-yard touchdown pass to Hines Ward – to defeat the Seahawks.

Ward, who caught five passes for 123 yards and a touchdown, was named Super Bowl MVP as the Steelers tied the San Francisco 49ers and Dallas Cowboys with a then-record fifth championship.

2. Patrick Mahomes | Kansas City Chiefs | Super Bowl LIV (2020) | 24 years, 138 days

Unlike Roethlisberger, Mahomes was the star of the show as he led the Chiefs to their first championship in 50 years at Super Bowl LIV in 2020.

The Kansas City Chiefs quarterback completed 26 of 42 passes for 286 yards with two touchdowns and two interceptions, while rushing for 29 yards and another touchdown as he was named Super Bowl MVP.

After being drafted 10th overall by the Chiefs in 2017, Mahomes took the league by storm in his second season, throwing for 5,097 yards, 50 touchdowns and just 12 interceptions as he was named NFL MVP and Offensive Player of the Year.

Kansas City lost in the AFC Championship game that year, but Mahomes led them to their first Super Bowl since 1969 in the following season, becoming the second-youngest signal-caller to win the Lombardi Trophy.

Mahomes also became just the third African-American quarterback to win the Super Bowl, and only the second to win Super Bowl MVP.

3. Tom Brady | New England Patriots | Super Bowl XXXVI (2002) | 24 years, 184 days

Brady’s legacy as the greatest quarterback of all time began at Super Bowl XXXVI in 2002 as he led the New England Patriots to their first ever Super Bowl, and the first of his seven to date.

Drafted 199th overall in 2000, Brady worked his way up the depth chart in New England to eventually take the reins as starter from Drew Bledsoe three games into the 2001 season.

After an 0-2 start, the Patriots ended the season 11-5, and Brady helped them past the Oakland Raiders and Pittsburgh Steelers before a last-second 20-17 win over the St. Louis Rams in the Super Bowl.

Having built a 17-3 lead, the Patriots gave up two touchdowns to tie the game at 17-17 with just 1:30 remaining and no timeouts.

Instead of running down the clock, as John Madden famously called for them to do from the broadcast booth, Brady led the Patriots’ offense up the field from their own 17-yard line to set up Adam Vinatieri’s 48-yard game-winning field goal.

For his performance – completing 16 of 27 for 145 yards and a touchdown – Brady was named Super Bowl MVP.

Super Bowl XXXVI is remembered as one of the greatest NFL championship games ever, and one of the biggest Super Bowl upsets of all time, with the Rams – led by Kurt Warner and The Greatest Show on Turf offense – entering the game as 14-point favorites.

We ranked the 2001 Patriots at No. 4 in our top 5 most surprising teams that made it to the Super Bowl.

4. Russell Wilson | Seattle Seahawks | Super Bowl XLVIII (2014) | 25 years, 65 days

Another quarterback to lead their team to a Super Bowl in just their second season as a pro, Wilson comes in at fourth on the list of youngest championship-winning signal callers.

Wilson was not drafted until the third round by the Seahawks in 2012, but won the starting job immediately and led the team to the postseason, eventually losing to the Atlanta Falcons in the Divisional Round.

In 2013, Wilson and Seattle finished with a 13-3 record and the No. 1 seed, before wins over the New Orleans Saints and San Francisco 49ers earned them a Super Bowl matchup against the Peyton Manning-led Denver Broncos. 

Despite Denver being favored by three points, the Seahawks routed the Broncos 43-8, setting the record for largest margin of victory for an underdog, and tying for third all time.

Wilson completed 18 of 25 passes for 206 yards and two TDs but missed out on MVP to linebacker Malcolm Smith, who registered a pick six, a recovered fumble and nine tackles.

5. Joe Namath | New York Jets | Super Bowl III (1969) | 25 years, 226 days

Played against the backdrop of the imminent AFL-NFL merger, Super Bowl III is widely seen as one of the greatest upsets in sporting history, and Namath was right at the centre of it.

With the AFL and NFL set to combine into one league the following season, much of the narrative at the time revolved around the perception that NFL teams were far superior to their AFL counterparts.

The Green Bay Packers of the NFL had won the first two Super Bowls, and many expected the Baltimore Colts, who had posted a 13-1 record in the NFL regular season, to beat Namath and the Jets comfortably.

Famously, in the build-up to the game, an intoxicated Namath declared in front of a crowd at the Miami Touchdown Club: “We’re gonna win the game. I guarantee it.”

True to his word, Broadway Joe dominated for much of the game, helping the Jets to a 16-0 lead which they did not relinquish in an eventual 16-7 victory.

Despite not registering a touchdown, Namath was named Super Bowl MVP after completing 17 of 28 passes for 206 yards.