The World Series is the annual championship series of Major League Baseball, contested between the winners of the American League and the National League.

The first World Series took place in 1903, with the Commissioner’s Trophy awarded to the winning team.

The World Series is decided by a best-of-seven playoff, meaning the first team to win four games are champions.

The World Series takes place in October every year, and is also known as the Fall Classic.

Of the 30 franchises currently competing in MLB, 24 have won the World Series at some point in their history.

That leaves six ball clubs without a World Series title.

1. Colorado Rockies

Since their creation as an expansion team in 1993, the Rockies have reached the postseason just five times and are one of just two franchises to never win a division title.

Their only appearance in the World Series came in 2007, when they received a Wild Card berth with a 90-73 record.

They swept the Philadelphia Phillies 3-0 in the Division Series before another sweep in the Championship Series against the Arizona Diamondbacks.

Unfortunately, they were then swept themselves in the Fall Classic against the Boston Red Sox.

Colorado has since reached the postseason three more times, winning just two of nine games and progressing no further than the NLDS.

2. Milwaukee Brewers

The Brewers were founded as the Seattle Pilots in 1969, entering the league as an AL expansion team before moving to Milwaukee the following year.

Now part of the National League, Milwaukee has reached the playoffs just seven times in its history, making a sole World Series appearance in 1982.

That year, the Brewers compiled a league-best regular season record of 95-67 before beating the California Angels 3-2 in the ALCS, but then going down in seven games against the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series.

They have reached the Championship Series twice since then, losing to the Cardinals in 2011 before pushing the Los Angeles Dodgers to seven games in 2018.

3. San Diego Padres

Also founded in 1969, the Padres have won two NL pennants in their history – in 1984 and 1998.

They fell short in the World Series on both occasions, losing 4-1 to the Detroit Tigers in ’84 before being swept by the New York Yankees in 1998.

Overall, the Padres have reached the postseason six times in their history, including losing in the NLDS in 2020 to the Los Angeles Dodgers.

4. Seattle Mariners

Not only have the Mariners never won the World Series, they are the only current franchise to have never featured in the Fall Classic.

Since their founding in 1977, Seattle has reached the postseason just four times, with all of those appearances coming between 1995 and 2001.

The Mariners have not reached the playoffs since then, with their current 20-year absence being the longest ongoing postseason drought across all four major North American professional sports.

5. Tampa Bay Rays

Tampa Bay is one of the two youngest MLB franchises, having been founded in 1998, and it has reached the World Series twice in its short history.

The most recent of those Fall Classic appearances came in 2020, when the Rays secured a Wild card berth and beat the Blue Jays, Yankees and Astros to win their second AL pennant.

Unfortunately, they were unable to get the job done in the World Series, going down 4-2 to the Dodgers.

Their previous World Series appearance came in 2008, when they won the AL East and beat Chicago and Boston in the postseason but fell short against Philadelphia.

6. Texas Rangers

Established in 1961 as the Washington Senators, the franchise moved to Arlington and rebranded as the Rangers in 1972.

The Rangers didn’t even make the postseason for the first 25 years of their existence in either guise, finally getting a playoff berth in 1996.

Their most successful period came in 2010 and 2011, when they reached consecutive Fall Classics after topping the AL West.

They were, however, beaten 4-1 by the Giants in 2010 before falling in seven games to the Cardinals the following year.

They have failed to get past the ALDS since then.

Visit Betway's MLB betting page.